Pax Christi USA, the national Catholic peace and justice movement, has recognized Rev. Bryan N. Massingale, S.T.D., theologian, author and scholar-activist, as the 2021 recipient of the Pax Christi USA Teacher of Peace Award. Read more at this link.

Each year, Pax Christi USA honors an outstanding peacemaker with the Teacher of Peace Award, in the tradition of Sr. Thea Bowman, Cesar Chávez, Dorothy Day, Pope Paul VI, and other contemporary Catholic figures who have shone a light for us on our journey toward solidarity and justice, to be each other’s keepers and stewards of creation.

Teachers of Peace

This award began in 1978 as a recognition of women and men whose lives and work exemplify the theme of Pope Paul VI’s World Day of Peace message, “To reach peace, teach peace.” Today we continue to honor those people who, as Pope Francis stated in his 2021 World Day of Peace message, “educate for a culture of care”, providing the compass which points the way on the path of peace to renewed encounter and healing.

1978 – Dorothy Day
1980 – Msgr. Paul Hanly Furfey
1982 – Mary Evelyn Jegen, S.N.D.
1983 – Eileen Egan and Gordon Zahn
1984 – Maura Clarke, Ita Ford, Dorothy Kazel and Jean Donovan
1986 – Hildegard and Jean Goss-Mayr
1987 – Archbishop Raymond Hunthausen
1988 – Lawrence Martin Jenco
1989 – Daniel Berrigan, S.J.
1990 – Joan Chittister, O.S.B.
1991 – Bishop Thomas Gumbleton
1992 – Dom Helder Camara
1993 – Colman McCarthy
1994 – Jim and Shelley Douglass
1995 – Jim and Kathy McGinnis
1996 – Helen Prejean, C.S.J.
1997 – Roy Bourgeois, M.M.
1998 – Kathy Kelly
1999 – Martin Sheen
2000 – Dianna Ortiz, O.S.U.
2001 – Fr. Louis Vitale, Liz McAlister and Phil Berrigan
2002 – Fr. Peter Dougherty
2003 – William Quigley
2005 – Msgr. Ray East
2006 – Sr. Mary Lou Kownacki, O.S.B.
2007 – Fr. John Rausch, Glmy
2008 – MJ and Jerry Park
2009 – Bishop Leroy Matthiesen
2010 – Jim Albertini
2011 – Colleen Kelly
2012 – Ruben Garcia
2013 – Mary Meg McCarthy
2016 – Art Laffin
2021 – Rev. Bryan N. Massingale, S.T.D.