This year, Pax Christi USA received seventeen nominations for the 2012 Teacher of Peace Award.

“Each nominee has a compelling story and long history of working for peace and justice,” stated Cathy Crosby, Pax Christi USA National Council member and chair of the Teacher of Peace nominations committee.  “It was a most difficult task to choose only one name to receive this year’s award. The work of all our nominees among the varied peoples and places in our country is of vital importance as we labor to heal our broken world, following the life and passion of Jesus.”

On Wednesday, April 11 at 12:30pm EDT, the 2012 Pax Christi USA Teacher of Peace will be announced. This year’s recipient will receive the award at Pax Christi USA’s annual Momentum event to be held in Washington, D.C. in September 2012.

Following is a list of this year’s nominees:

  • John Dear, S.J.
  • Marie Dennis
  • Fr. Michael J. Doyle
  • Archbishop Harry Flynn
  • Ruben Garcia
  • Jack Jezreel
  • Jim Keady
  • Sr. Maureen Kelley, OP
  • Judith Kelly
  • Mary Logan
  • Dr. Megan McKenna
  • Camilo Mejia
  • Sr. Jane Morrissey, SSJ
  • Kimberly Redigan
  • Sr. Megan Rice, SHCJ
  • Dr. Terrence Rynne
  • Fr. Jerry Zawada

Leave a Reply