In mid-October in El Paso (TX), the Pax Christi USA National Council and staff of the National Office convened for staff and council planning meetings. (Pictured below with Bishop Seitz, Bishop Celino, members of Pax Christi El Paso, friends at the Columban Center; see more photos from throughout the meeting at this link.)

During the meeting, the National Council and staff met with Bishop Mark Seitz and Bishop Anthony Celino of the Diocese of El Paso, celebrated Mass at Sacred Heart Church, met with Pax Christi USA Teacher of Peace Ruben Garcia at Annunciation House, and joined local Pax Christi members and friends for a special dinner at the Columban Mission Center House. We learned first-hand of the efforts of the diocese and others to serve and be in solidarity with immigrants and the special witness they have by virtue of being on the border.

In addition to the regular yearly business, the National Council chose the members of the 2023-2024 Executive Committee, with Bishop John Stowe, OFM Conv continuing as Bishop-President; Charlene Howard, starting her third year as National Council Chair; Sherry Simon in her second year as Vice-Chair; and Fr. Fred Thelen, returning as Treasurer. Ivone Guillen joined them as the new Secretary. Click here for more information on each new and returning Executive Committee members.

Pax Christi USA wishes to thank Manuel Padilla, who served as Secretary this past year and will continue as a member of the National Council. We also thank Peter Majura who has cycled off the council after his three-year term.

The council also welcomed three new members: James Watts (AL) and Vic Doucette (IL), both appointed for two-year terms; and Kathy O’Leary (NJ), elected to a three-year term this past summer.

Leave a Reply