Teachers of Peace

This year, thirty nominees were put forward as possible recipients to receive the Pax Christi USA 2021 Teacher of Peace Award.

Each year (with the exception of a four year hiatus between 2017-20), Pax Christi USA honors an outstanding peacemaker in the tradition of Sr. Thea Bowman, Dan Berrigan, Cesar Chávez, Dianna Ortiz, Dorothy Day, Ray East, Bishop Gumbleton, and others. This award recognizes women and men whose lives and work exemplify the theme of Pope Paul VI’s World Day of Peace message, “To reach peace, teach peace.”

“The extraordinary thing about the process for naming a Teacher of Peace each year is to see the full spectrum of people who are working for a more peaceful, more just and more sustainable world in such a variety of ways,” stated Johnny Zokovitch, Pax Christi USA Executive Director. “Each of these candidates is indeed a ‘teacher of peace’ and living out the gospel call to justice, compassion, mercy and love. This is what makes our movement so strong.”

The Pax Christi USA National Council, following consultation with the Teacher of Peace Committee, makes the final decision regarding this year’s recipient. Later this month, the 2021 Pax Christi USA Teacher of Peace will be announced with this year’s recipient receiving the award during Pax Christi USA’s National Conference in late-July.

Following is a list of this year’s nominees (listed randomly):

  • Fr. David Hyman, OFM
  • Dr. Craig Ford, Jr.
  • Fr. John Dear
  • Bud Courtney and the New York Catholic Worker
  • Sharon and David Halsey-Hoover
  • Marie Dennis
  • Patti Sills-Trausch
  • Fr. Bryan Massingale, Ph.D.
  • John August Swanson
  • Sr. Ann Scholz, SSND
  • Sr. Constance Kozel, RSM
  • Frank Cordaro
  • Pádraig Ó Tuama
  • M. Shawn Copeland, Ph.D.
  • Sr. Lynn Marie Welbig, PBVM
  • Sr. Norma Pimental
  • Kings Bay Plowshares 7
  • Sr. Linda Bessom, SND
  • Kim Redigan
  • Alvin L. Brooks
  • Fr. Frank Kelly
  • Brian Terrell
  • Fr. Emmanuel Charles McCarthy
  • Pat Ferrone
  • John and Carrie Schuchardt
  • Fr. Frank O’Loughlin
  • Frank Breen
  • Francisco Cardoso Gomes de Matos
  • Carolyn Townes, OFS
  • Douglas Kasper
  • Fr. Chris Ponnet

Pax Christi USA congratulates each of the nominees and gives thanks for their work on behalf of peace with justice.

2 thoughts on “Nominees announced for 2021 Teacher of Peace Award

  1. A monumental group of gifted teachers. Thanks to Lynn Marie Welbig PBVM and to all of you!

Leave a Reply