National Council with PCI Co-Presidents
Members of the Pax Christi USA National Council and Staff with Pax Christi International Co-Presidents Bishop Kevin Dowling and Marie Dennis.

The Pax Christi USA National council met this week in Washington, D.C. at the Center of Concern. Two new members, the recently elected David O’Brien and Heather Brouillet Navarro, joined the council. O’Brien is an historian who comments regularly on issues in American Catholic life and recently contributed an essay on Catholic peacemaking in Peacebuilding: Catholic Theology, Ethics, and Praxis (Orbis, 2010). Navarro formerly led a campus chapter at Washington University in St. Louis and recently helped to catalyze a new group in St. Louis. She is a private public interest attorney working in the area of civil rights, advocating for individuals and groups for the inclusion and equality of those at the margins of society. You can read their full bios by clicking here.

The September National Council meeting also saw the election of a new executive committee for the 2012-2013 year. Re-elected as National Council Chair is Sr. Josie Chrosniak, HM. Cathy Woodson, a community organizer from Virginia was elected to serve as the Vice-Chair, with Cynthia Morris-Colbert, former education director at the Department of Justice, Peace and Human Development at the USCCB, elected as Treasurer. Nick Mele was re-elected as Secretary. You can read full bios of the Executive Committee by clicking here.

Leave a Reply