Teachers of Peace

This year, thirty-six nominees were put forward for consideration for the Pax Christi USA 2022 Teacher of Peace Award.

Each year (with the exception of a four year hiatus between 2017-20), Pax Christi USA honors an outstanding peacemaker in the tradition of Sr. Thea Bowman, Dan Berrigan, Cesar Chávez, Dianna Ortiz, Dorothy Day, Ray East, Bishop Thomas Gumbleton, and others. Last year’s recipient was Fr. Bryan Massingale.

The award recognizes women and men whose lives and work exemplify the theme of Pope Paul VI’s World Day of Peace message, “To reach peace, teach peace.”

“It is so gratifying to see the incredible list of extraordinary people put forward from our membership for their witness to peace,” stated Johnny Zokovitch, Pax Christi USA Executive Director. “We know that every one of these candidates already qualifies as a ‘teacher of peace’ for all they are doing to live out their vocation to the peace with justice that is at the heart of the gospel message.”

The Pax Christi USA National Council, following consultation with the Teacher of Peace Committee, makes the final decision regarding this year’s recipient. Next month, the 2022 Pax Christi USA Teacher of Peace will be announced with this year’s recipient receiving the award during Pax Christi USA’s 50th Anniversary National Conference in August.

Following is a list of this year’s nominees (listed randomly):

  • Patricia Delgado
  • Sr. Norma Pimentel
  • Lisa Sowle Cahill
  • Judith Kelly
  • Carol Fay
  • Sherry Simon
  • Sr. Carol Gilbert
  • John August Swanson
  • Katie (Katherine) Murphy
  • Marie Dennis
  • Frank Anthony Ponnet
  • Ann Marie Judson
  • The Plowshares Movement
  • Sr. Lilianne Flavin and Don Everad
  • Rosemarie Pace
  • M. Shawn Copeland
  • Sister Darlene Kawulok, CSJ
  • Archbishop John C. Wester
  • Eli McCarthy
  • Bishop John Stowe, OFM Conv
  • Scott Wright & Jean Stokan
  • Betsey Beckman and St. Patrick’s Parish in Seattle
  • Rosemarie Milazzo
  • Robert Cooke
  • Archbishop Telesphore-George Mpundu
  • Rev. John Dear
  • Sr. Patty Chappell, SNDdeN & Sr. Anne-Louise Nadeau, SNDdeN
  • Betty A. Reardon
  • Tom Cordaro
  • Dr. Craig Ford Jr.
  • Molly Rush
  • Kim Redigan

Pax Christi USA congratulates each of the nominees and gives thanks for their work on behalf of peace with justice. We encourage our members and others to send notes of congratulations to those you know among the nominees and to thank them for their commitment!

9 thoughts on “Nominees announced for 2022 Teacher of Peace Award

  1. What an incredible group of people – they are ALL teachers of peace! Where do we vote?

  2. Very inspiring and hopeful. I am deeply grateful for each one and for others working for peace who are not mentioned.

  3. All truly worthy and in some cases nationally known, I am more impressed by local behind the scene teachers like Deacon James Rauner, or Jerry and Molly Mechtenberg-Berrigan. But everyone on the list is worthy; let’s just keep working together

  4. I thought Barbara Richardson was among the nominees. Her name is not on the list.

Leave a Reply